Thanks to all our sponsors
Hardwood Ventures logo

The Hoopsfix All-Star Classic returned for its fifth year in 2019, taking the UK’s top junior basketball showcase to new levels, expanding over two days for the first time, adding in the first junior women’s basketball all-star game in recent British basketball history, a coaching clinic and a 3-point shooting contest for the first time, to go with the usual Upperclassmen and Underclassmen Men’s games.

Additional to the games, there was a morning clinic for local Under-12 youth led by Great Britain Senior international Carl Wheatle, and a dunk contest between the two games.

The Sunday game featuring the two male games and dunk contest, sold out for the fifth consecutive year, whilst the Women’s game was at 90% capacity. The entire weekend was live streamed to YouTube, Facebook, and for the first time, Twitter.

Coaching Clinic

The first ever Hoopsfix All-Star Classic Coaching Clinic took place in partnership with the newly re-formed Basketball Coaches Association in the UK.

The BCA has been dormant for over a decade, and with the lack of CPD opportunities for coaches available, a group of coaches decided to re-launch the membership-organisation with the intentions of holding multiple clinics, networking opportunities and an annual conference.

Mark Dunning – one of the original co-founders of the BCA – presented an hour on-court session, ‘A Multi-Purpose Drill for All Levels’, whilst former England U18 and NCAA D1 player Daniel James – now a skills trainer – ran through some of his favourite drills to ensure a fundamental base.

The group of coaches then went to the classroom for an hour with GB Under-16 and Barking Abbey coach James Vear sharing his experiences with the National Team, including a comparison of the GB U16s against
their European counterparts.

3-Point Shootout

Rhys Sundimalt was crowned the first-ever Hoopsfix All-Star Classic 3-Point Shootout winner after an impressive display in the final on Saturday in a warm-up to the Women’s game. The Itchen College guard, now playing professionally in Ice- land, hit 20 – out of a maximum of 30 – to take the title after surpassing Imogen Cook’s target of 12 in the final.

Dunk Contest

Sam Alajiki showed out in Brixton to win the 2019 edition of the Hoopsfix All-Star Classic dunk contest.

The Canterbury forward defeated Veron Eze in the final after impressing a judging panel of GB internationals in Ovie Soko, Teddy Okereafor, Ryan Martin and Dwayne Lautier-Ogunleye.

Alajiki scored 32 to win the title from a field that also included 2018 winner Jonathan Brown along with Pharrell Wallace-Steele, Veron Eze, and Aaron Badibo.

Under-19 Women’s Game

Team White prevailed in the first-ever Under-19 Women’s Game as they edged out Team Black 54-50.

Now-Oregon freshman Holly Winterburn earned MVP honours with 20 points, four rebounds and four steals in the victory with Loren Christie adding eight points, while Holly Wright had six points and eight boards from the bench. For Team Black, Lauren Saa hit four triples in her team-high 12 points along with seven rebounds, while Jade Mbam scored eight.

Underclassmen Game

Team Black produced an impressive three-minute spell late in the fourth on their way to a thrilling 90-86 victory over Team White in the Underclassmen game at the 2019 Hoopsfix All-Star Classic in Brixton, on Sunday.

Tomiwa Sulaiman took MVP honours with a 17-point haul, coming up big down the stretch to edge out team-mate Veron Eze, who finished with a joint game-high of 19 points along with seven boards and four assists.

Lewis McGlasson hit some big shots late on to finish with 15 points in the win.

For Team White, Cameron Hildreth top scored with 19 points, while Ethan Price had 11 points with minutes spread throughout the rosters.

Class of 2019 Game

Team Black recorded a 67-62 victory over Team White in the 2019 Hoopsfix All-Star Classic Class of 2019 game.

Mate Okros led his side to the win as the MVP with 16 points along with four rebounds and three steals.

Hosana Kitenge posted 11 points to go with eight boards and three blocks with Wes Oba hitting 10 points from the bench.

In defeat, Niall Harris led Team White with 15 points as well as four assists with Joe Bielak also in double figures with 10 points.

Class of 2019 White Team

Nathaniel Powell

Forward • Barking Abbey

Rhys Sundimalt

Guard • Itchen College

Niall Harris

Guard • Charnwood College / Loughborough

Zak-Blue Shagourie

Forward • Sunlive Basketball Academy (Portugal)

Patrick Lanipekun

Forward • CoLA

Ade Adebayo

Guard • Barking Abbey

Aaron Badibo

Guard • New City College / Hackney

Abdul Wurie

Forward • Oaklands College / Westminster Warriors

Milo Gordon

Forward • Canterbury Academy

Peter Turay

Forward • Itchen / Solent Kestrels / CoLA

Pierce Maslen

Guard • Sunlive Basketball Academy (Portugal) / Barking Abbey

Joe Bielak

Forward • Charnwood College

Class of 2019 Black Team

Elias Poorman

Guard • London United

Mate Okros

Forward • Myerscough

Robin Bedford

Guard • Barking Abbey

Jonathan Brown

Forward • Barking Abbey

Callan Low

Forward • Myerscough

Arinze Emeka-Anyakwo

Guard • JMA / Reading Rockets / Manchester Magic

Sam Keita

Forward • Myerscough Academy

Wesley Oba

Forward • Sunlive Basketball Academy (Portugal)

Hosana Kitenge

Centre • Charnwood College / Loughborough / Worthing Thunder

Matt Hughes

Forward • Itchen College

Conroy Hayden

Forward • Aston Manor

Under-19 Women's White Team

Holly Winterburn

Guard • Leicester Riders

Megan Haines

Guard • Southwark Pride / CoLA

Brahe Ashton

Guard • Nottingham Wildcats

Esther Oluade

Guard • Southwark Pride / CoLA

Macy Spinks

Guard • BA London Lions

Alix Henderson

Guard • Caledonia Pride

Loren Christie

Forward • BA London Lions

Kyra Smith

Forward • Myerscough

Lily Annim

Forward/centre • BA London Lions

Shaniya Rose

Forward • Nottingham Wildcats

Pollyanna Storie

Forward • Caledonia Pride

Holly Wright

Forward • Charnwood College

Under-19 Women's Black Team

Esther Little

Forward • Ipswich / Copleston

Lauren Saa

Forward • Charnwood College

Imogen Cook

Guard • Charnwood College

Maya Hyacienth

Forward • City of London Academy

Jade Mbam

Guard • Manchester Mystics

Teresa Da Silva

Guard • BA London Lions

Megan Jones

Forward/centre • Charnwood College

Amelia Sandie

Guard • City of London Academy

Cameron Taylor-Willis

Forward • Ipswich / Copleston

Ashana Hinds

Guard • City of London Academy

Rebecca Morrison

Forward • Charnwood College

Mia Jaye Sarkodee-Adoo

Forward • City of London Academy

Underclassmen White Team

David Chive

Guard • Reading Rockets

Blaize Sagna

Guard • Charnwood College

Blake Bowman

Forward • Derby Trailblazers

Jeremy Sochan

Forward • Solent Kestrels

Ethan Price

Forward • Ipswich / Copleston

Sam Grant

Forward • Reading Rockets / JMA

Theo Hughes

Centre • Barking Abbey

Pharrell Wallace-Steel

Forward • Ratiopharm Ulm (Germany)

Sam Alajiki

Forward • Beckley Prep (USA) / Canterbury

Josh Uduje

Guard • Knox School (US) / London Thunder

Ridley Shema

Forward • Richmond

Cameron Hildreth

Guard • Sussex Storm / Holy Trinity

Underclassmen Black Team

Ben Winter

Guard • Ipswich / Copleston

Tomiwa Sulaiman

Forward • West Nottingham Academy (USA)

Saul May

Forward • Manchester Magic

Louis Norton-Cuffy

Guard • Barking Abbey / Southwark Pride / CoLA

Lewis McGlasson

Forward • Myerscough

Bradley Kaboza

Forward • Myerscough Academy

Veron Eze

Guard • Barking Abbey / Ipswich / Copleston

Ethan Damerum

Forward • Charnwood College / Loughborough

Franklin Agu

Forward • Myerscough / Haringey Hawks

Chris Feeney

Guard • Barking Abbey

Sanmi Fajana

Forward • Myerscough

Amari Williams

Forward • Myerscough